When Life Gets In The Way

Confession is good for the soul…

I’ve been slacking off for the past week or two on learning about the craft of writing and (dare I say it) actual writing/editing on my WIP.  In fact, the only writing I’ve been able to accomplish are my three weekly blog posts.

Sigh.

In my defense, life got in the way and took precedence over reading about craft and writing fictional romance.

It’s true that things do occasionally arise that trump pursuit of a passion so maybe I’m being too hard on myself.  But the way I figure it, if I get up and go to the day job five days a week, even with everything else on my agenda, then I should certainly be able to make time to read and write (no arithmetic…yuck!!).

And…flogging over.

**Time out while I grab the Neosporin and some band-aids.**

Ouch

Life does intrude.  Sometimes we have to put down the pen, the paint brushes, the toe shoes for a brief period and focus on those things that must be completed.  It’s important to forgive ourselves when this happens and come back to our passion refreshed and sane. Frankly, if there are things crowding into our lives that must be done, it’s often hard to concentrate and be creative until those things are accomplished.

The key is to keep an eye on the clock or the calendar and not let too much time elapse before returning to what we love.  If too much time passes, it can become easy to delay another hour, another day, another week, and before we know it, months have gone by without writing.

Compare this to exercise.  Blow it off too many days in a row and the next thing you know, the scale has a bigger number on it than we’d like.  Who among us wants to see that?

It would be easy to make excuses this week and continue residence in Slackerville.  There are still items on the To Do list.  However, Slackerville is a depressing little community.

The time has come to move out and back into Writingville.

Relocation is a conscious decision.  It’s a choice, to make time to do what we love.

So today, I’m re-committing.  I’m climbing back up in the saddle.  I choose to do what I love.  I’ll read a chapter of a craft book and work on my novel until I reach my word count tonight.  Tomorrow, same thing.  And the day after, and the day after that.

What do you do when life gets in the way?  How do you get back in the writing groove?

6 thoughts on “When Life Gets In The Way

    • Thanks for recommending the post on Pet the Dog! I love her approach. I tend to forget there are 24 hours in a day and then try to cram as much as possible into each hour, rather than focusing on just one item each hour. I can see how her method would allow concentrated progress and productivity. Thanks again!

      Like

  1. Get out of slackerville! I have been broke down there many times and it is not a pleasant place to be. Best of luck with resuming your writing and getting back to what you enjoy doing. If you need a male model for your next romance story bookcover, just let me know…. I work for free…. 🙂

    Like

    • I’m getting out! I’ve never been a fan of Slackerville and was unpleasantly surprised to find myself residing there (at least when it comes to my writing…I’ve totally been in Productiveville when it comes to chores, errands, and the daily detritus of living). As a writer, even a day in Slackerville can be hurtful. And I’ll definitely keep you in mind as a male model! Your price is right! 🙂

      Like

  2. There are times when I don’t write because there are too many other things to do. Several months ago, I made a commitment to quit beating myself up over it. I’ve got enough to deal with, I don’t need the self-imposed punishment and guilt because I can’t do it all.

    All that said, I’m glad you found your way out of Slackerville. It’s an okay place to pass through but not to stay a while 🙂

    Like

    • That post helped me to forgive myself. You’re right about not needing the self-imposed punishment and guilt. I’m off on my trip today and decided to take my laptop with me and squeeze in time to write. At a minimum, I’ve got 5 hours in the air, each way, to make up for lost time. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.