Building Sand Castles in the Sky

Yesterday, Tori at The Ramblings wrote a post about her bucket list.  That got me thinking…

What’s on MY bucket list?

What’s on yours?

Do we need a bucket list?

What if the bucket leaks?

I can’t carry a tune in a bucket, so will it even hold a list?

Is the bucket a metal pail or a colorful plastic beach bucket useful for building sand castles?

My bucket. It seems kind of small, doesn't it? And I'd prefer it in hot pink...but it'll do in a pinch.

As Tori pointed out, the term “bucket list” has been floating around at least since Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman traveled the world, checking off daring feats from their respective lists in the movie of the same name.  The concept has been around for much longer, referred most frequently to as “the list of things I want to do before I die.”  “Bucket list” rolls of the tongue much more easily, doesn’t it?

We all have things we love to do, people who make us happy even in their ordinariness and simplicity.  These certainly deserve a place on the list because the continuity of all things happy helps to guarantee we will reach the ends of our individual lives and smile contentedly when asked if we lived a life well-lived.

But the big stuff…The exciting adventures.  The derring-do deeds.  The things that challenge us and push us to our limits and beyond.  Shouldn’t these be on the list as well?

Before I get all excited and type up a list, it should be recognized that there’s a drawback to a bucket list.  What if there are still items to be checked off when our time comes?  Will we regret that we didn’t complete everything?

I suppose that’s possible, but wouldn’t it be worse to find yourself lying on your death-bed, kicking yourself because you suddenly thought of something you really wanted to do, and could have done but didn’t, and now can’t, because, you know, dying?  That would suck to the poles and back.

Living life with no (or very few) regrets isn’t always easy.  However, it seems like a solid concept to live each day to the fullest, absorbing every single bit of experience and knowledge from every single incident.  This would likely lead to sliding sideways into our personal Earthly ends screaming “Wheeeeee!  What a ride!”

Wouldn’t it be better to look at your list and see the things you DID cross off?

That question asked and considered…hmmm.

Now on to my bucket list, including current and future deeds, in no particular order.

  • Be the best Aunt / friend / confidante / compatriot I can be to my niece and nephew.  Always show them that they are loved and understood.
  • Treat my parents with grace as they age.
  • Respect my brother and sister-in-law and cherish their friendship.
  • Move to Ireland for at least a year.
  • Finish my novel.
  • Write many more novels.
  • Get published.
  • Make a living as an author.
  • Travel the world, soaking up experience and adventures (except for the Middle East, unless peace breaks out).
  • Raft down the Amazon (Thanks, Dad for that Grand Canyon trip in 1997.  You gave me the bug!).
  • Grow old with someone I love, the right someone.
  • Ride an elephant in India (Tori…I’d rather ride one that sit next to one…I’m afraid it would step on me if I just sat there).
  • Ride in a hot air balloon.
  • Visit all 50 states (I’ve been to roughly 35 so far…I really need to make a list so I know what I have left).
  • See the seven wonders of the world (or are there eight now?).
  • Own a beachfront home.
  • Be a friend to my friends.
  • Be kind to my “enemies”.
  • Give generously to those in need.
  • Count on God.
  • Pet a cow.
  • Learn to be vulnerable and authentic.
  • Hug a tree.
  • Swim with dolphins.
  • Quit smoking (which should make it easier to actually live long enough to do the things on this list).
  • Check off all the items on this list.

What’s on your bucket list?

12 thoughts on “Building Sand Castles in the Sky

    • Thanks for the comment. I also need to be a better friend to my friends (which is why I put it on my list :)). Friendships, just like anything else worth having, require work and I’ve been rather lazy in recent months.

      Like

  1. Wow! That is a great list. Mine is kind of a work in progress. For this year, I want to drop 80lbs, ride my exercise bike 4,000 miles cross country, white-water raft in New Mexico, and then sky dive before the end of the year. I hope to add more things as I go along. Your list is awesome!

    Like

    • Thanks! I think any bucket list is a work in progress. I came up with mine as I wrote the post and realized that everything on it is something I can accomplish, if I set my mind to it. My Dad read it through my link to Facebook and he’s planning our trip down the Amazon now! 🙂

      The goals you’ve set for this year are fantastic. I’ll be cheering you on.

      Like

    • Thanks! My Dad has started researching the Amazon trip based on this post. He did a great job pulling together our Grand Canyon rafting trip years ago, so I’m leaving the planning up to him.

      Like

  2. I know I’m the sappy one in the family, but when you begin your bucket list with a reference to my kiddos, I have to think you’re gaining on me!

    Like

    • They may be your kiddos but they’re the most important people in the world to me, so yeah, that’s sappy. 🙂
      Now I expect you to be super nice to me during my visit because I brought a tear to your eye. LOL!

      Like

  3. I have a LOT of things on my list but my favorite things I’ve done so far is swim with whale sharks, get in the Guinness World Book by being a part of the largest skinny dip, doing the No-Pants Subway Ride Flash Mob, and finishing my marathon. Feel free to visit my blog to get some ideas to add your list and good luck on your list!

    Like

Comments are closed.