Talk About Dedication

I’m headed to Los Angeles in the near future to finally bestow hugs and kisses on my adorable new nephew and my beautiful niece, the two great loves of my life.  (The little guy will be 4 months old by the time I get there…bad Aunt Hil…but in my defense, airfare from Chicago to Burbank ain’t cheap.)

Could they be ANY cuter???

These kids are the sweetness and light, peace and love, in my existence.  I’m their “hippie dippie” aunt and damn proud of it!

I’m looking forward to three fun-filled days of baby drool and dirty diapers, tea parties and Barbie mutilations.  This trip is a vacation from the daily grind.  My parents, brother, and sister-in-law will be there, but I’m most excited about time with the kidlets.  It’s all about them anyway, isn’t it?

Since I don’t have children of my own, spending quality time with my niece and nephew and doing everything possible to know them and let them know me is imperative.  After all, I’m hoping these two will be the ones who take care of me in my old age.

But, here’s the thing:

I only get out to California to visit family a couple of times a year.  My initial thought was to leave my laptop at home and just take my iPad for reading and watching movies on the plane, so I could focus on the kids.  But today, I realized that can’t be the whole plan, not if I’m serious about my identity as a writer.

I’m working diligently on my book.  I have a daily word quota to expand and revise and edit what I’ve already written.  Sure, taking a few days off doesn’t seem like a big deal in the great scheme of things, but as a writer, one determined to get this book into shape for critique within the next several months, can I really afford to skip a few days of writing?

I’m not sure I should.

Like I said, I don’t have children.  I have a day job and friends and extra-curricular activities that promote my spiritual, emotional, and mental growth.  It’s easy to schedule time into my day to write under those obligations.  However, I have no clue how to do the same when a 3-year old is tugging on my hand to go play and an infant is happily cuddled in my arms.

I need your help, adored readers of this blog.  While I don’t want to short-change those children, I feel I also need to find time to write.  Therefore, I can use every suggestion I receive to the following questions:

Should I take a break from writing for a few days, or find the time to fit it in? What pointers do you have to balance my writing life and my upcoming family vacation time?

8 thoughts on “Talk About Dedication

  1. i think you should take a break. you will be distracted as you will want to be doing something else so the quality of your writing wont be as good. take a break and then go back refreshed and hit that book HARD!!! good luck

    Like

  2. I think taking a break is acceptable, but if you really want to make some progress on your book, you can schedule an hour or so each night AFTER the kids go to bed. Set a timer if you need to. This way, you’re not cutting into kiddie time and you feel like you’ve made some progress.

    I hope you have fun on your trip to CA and enjoy the time with your neice and nephew!

    Like

  3. I have a 3 yr old and a 1 yr old and I find it difficult to work during their nap times – mostly because I’m just as exhausted as they are! Also, there are days when they nap only an hour or sometimes more. Usually if I try to write while they nap their naps are inevitably 45 minutes long….just about the time when I really get into my writing.

    If you find that you just can’t stop the writing bug from nagging you during your trip, write at night.

    I agree with jannatwrites take some time after they fall asleep to do some writing. Thankfully, I’m a night writer so this works out the best for me. The day is done, the chores are finished, the kids are sleeping and mommy is writing. What an awesome way to end the day.

    Best of luck and enjoy those kids – they are adorable!

    Like

    • Thank you for subscribing, and thank you for the comment!

      I like what Janna and you have said about writing at night, after the kids are in bed. I’ve also considered early in the morning, especially since I know it’s likely I’ll wake up a good two hours earlier than everyone else due to my body clock’s setting for the central time zone. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.