“Fan”tabulous Fridays: 2/18/11

In my “Who? Me?” section, I called out Friday as the day to share my favorite posts of the week. To qualify, the post had to make me think, make me question, teach me, or inspire me.  In other words, I liked the post enough to click the “like” button so I could save it to read again some day.

Writer fantasy #259: Nailing bad guys
One of my best friends owns a designer handbag boutique. Because of her, I sometimes manage to look fashion-savvy instead of like a homeless person carrying my keys and lipstick in a paper bag.  A few weeks ago, her store was robbed by a guy who waltzed in and nabbed her laptop. Several people saw him, and since he has a mohawk in a city where two people sport that particular hairstyle, we’re hopeful he might eventually turn up. Can I confess something? I’ve fantasized about helping catch him.
~ Tawna Fenske at Don’t Pet Me, I’m Writing

Why I Liked It: I’m one of those people who spends inordinate amounts of time inside my own head, projecting and imagining and analyzing and glorifying and…okay, that’s enough with the –ing words.  What that boils down to is that I totally imagine myself as some sort of super hero (think Wonder Woman, ‘kay?), ready to leap tall buildings in a single bound and kick the ever-loving crap out of anyone who dares to hurt someone I care about.  This isn’t a rare occurrence either.  I really, really want to be Wonder Woman…

What a Caesar Salad Taught Me About Writing – And Life
No one was more surprised than me when I, the clumsy shy girl, landed a waitressing job during college.  I overcame the urge to run home crying on the first night, after being yelled at by an irate woman who didn’t appreciate wearing three Cokes.  (That tray balancing thing takes practice.)  Several months, many patient customers, and few angry ones later, management wanted me to work the day shift during the summer.
~ JannaTWrites at JannaTWrite’s Blog

Why I Liked It: First, I admire anyone who can do the waitressing gig.  I always figured I’d purposely dump a tray on some cranky customer’s head on my very first day, so I never gave it a shot.  And I could’ve used the money for play time when I was in college.  More importantly, however, this post reminded me that inspiration for writing exists everywhere.  I just need to pay attention.

Black and white, or gray all over?
I love writing. I love literature, I love languages, and I love the creativity involved in all of the above. I strongly dislike math and science, and any other left-brained activity.  What I like best about writing is that it’s so much in the “gray” area of my life, that I can write about any topic, I can change my opinion about something, and there is no right or wrong answer.
~ Caitlin at Collective Disclosure

Why I Liked It:  I detest math.  I detest science.  Common ground shared here.  The irony is my day job revolves around numbers.  Thank God I have writing as an escape.

Engaging Conversation at Cibo Urban Pizzeria
There are those who love Valentine’s Day and those who shiver with dread the second week of February. I’ve always been lukewarm about it. I like (love) roses, I’m a chocolate addict, and it’s fun to go out to dinner—especially at a romantic place like Cibo Urban Pizzeria. That said Valentine’s Day is not very fun when you’re single, but well, after this Valentine’s Day, I will never be single again … Because I’m engaged to be married.
~ Sara Dobie at Sara Dobie’s Blog

Why I Liked It: Ms. Dobie got engaged. On Valentine’s Day.  There is such hope in the news of someone starting a lifelong journey with the love of their life.  Oh, and there was pizza.

How to Handle Pressure
Enough! I’ve got too much on my plate already. I can’t handle any more pressure. Have you ever said that to yourself?  I have. Many times.  Pressure is one of Twelve Troublemakers that plagues me as a writer. I’m exploring one a week. This is the second in the series.
~ Keli Gwyn at Keli Gwyn, Author

Why I Liked It: Pressure sucks but finding ways to cope and work through it are imperative if we’re to succeed at writing (or anything we undertake).  I’ve been feeling a lot of pressure lately as my love life has crashed and burned once again (my choice to end it, I have a lousy “picker”, and still, stress…).  The tips in this post were timely and oh so useful.

17 Reasons Why Entertainment Weekly Is Wrong About Romantic Comedy
Entertainment Weekly posted a list of “24 RomCom Clichés We’d Retire.” I’ve spent the past eight months studying romantic comedy at Popcorn Dialogues, the last twenty years writing romantic comedy, and the last forty-five years watching it, and I feel this is a topic I have some expertise on. So this is a list of 17 reasons why Entertainment Weekly’s thinking on romantic comedy is biased, sloppy, and often dumb, plus seven things they got right. Sort of.
~ Jennifer Crusie at Argh Ink

Why I Liked It: I love when people take the tabloids to task for the error of their ways.  Romantic comedy, hell, the romance genre in general, works because of the clichés.  Sure, some are of them are trite, but if you’re anything like me, you enjoy reading, writing, or watching romance because there is (almost always) a happy ending.  Cue sappy music…now.

What inspired you this week?

5 thoughts on ““Fan”tabulous Fridays: 2/18/11

  1. Thanks for including me in your list this week.

    I checked out a few other posts – good reads 🙂 I like how you add why you liked something; it’s interesting to see what drew you to a particular post. Have a good weekend!

    Like

Comments are closed.