“Fan”tabulous Fridays: 2/11/11

In my “Who? Me?” section, I called out Friday as the day to share my favorite posts of the week. To qualify, the post had to make me think, make me question, teach me, or inspire me.  In other words, I liked the post enough to click the “like” button so I could save it to read again some day.

Better than Speling Bea Runnor Up
I am successful in the field of almost winning things. To console myself after countless defeats, I often celebrated Winning in the Almost Winning category, but I knew the truth. I was not meant to rush the stage and give an elaborate acceptance speech. My mother wouldn’t let me sport acrylic nails and glittery bikinis as a kid, so my hopes of waving at peasants and answering “World Peace” to all questions as the reigning Little Miss Perfect were pretty much demolished before I’d so much as learned to twirl a flaming baton.
~ Tori Nelson at The Ramblings

Why I Liked It: I love when someone wins something after not winning anything.  It gives me hope I’ll win something some day.

Responsibility is a Natural Beauty
From infancy on, my parents instinctively did what most parents do:  teach kids to do for themselves.  First it was holding a spoon so I could eat when hungry (or so they didn’t have to play airplane with the smashed green beans and open their mouths wide to prompt me to do the same).  Then it progressed to walking, talking and potty training.
~ JannaTWrites at JannaTWrite’s Blog

Why I Liked It: I’m grateful to my parents for teaching me responsibility.  It made me a better adult.  Maybe I should send them a thank you note?  That’s the responsible thing to do, right?

How to Avoid Becoming Another Boring Writer’s Blog
Writers serious about publication are urged to blog. But once we start, we often don’t know WHAT TO BLOG ABOUT. We struggle to find our BLOGGING FOCUS. We flounder to discover our BLOGGING VOICE.
~ Author, Jody Hedlund at Jody Hedlund, Author & Speaker

Why I Liked It:  I’m still trying to find my blogging voice. And I don’t just want to regurgitate the same information other writers share (well, except for on Fridays, when the whole point is to share).  This is another instance of taking all the help I can get.

Living Vicariously Through Our Characters
Can you tap dance? Play the piano? Ice skate?  At times in my life, I’ve wished I could do all three.  When I was five, I cut the straps off my old Mary Janes and imagined my once-shiny black patent leather “slip-ons” were tap shoes. I spent hours on the back porch doing my best impression of a tap dancer.
~ Keli Gwyn at Keli Gwyn, Author

Why I Liked It: For some reason (maybe because I’m new to the “writing a novel” part of writing), I hadn’t thought about having any of my characters do something I always wanted to do, or am too frightened to try.  I just figured I could have my characters take on, then conquer, my emotional baggage.  But why couldn’t my heroine jump out of a plane while she’s at it?

Let’s Talk Platform – Why We Need One
Platform, next to the actual writing, is simply THE most valuable asset we possess. Platform and content are the two things we control, and they are the largest determining factors as to whether or not we will have a successful writing career.
~ Author Kristen Lamb at Kristen Lamb’s Blog

Why I Liked It: Whether or not I ever get published, I want to know that I did everything I could to establish myself as a serious writer, with name recognition.  In this internet age, an online platform will be critical to that success.

Revenge in a Red Dress
I attended a ladies’ fashion luncheon on Saturday, and I’m pleased to report I didn’t spit gristle in anyone’s purse.  OK, I did roll up my sleeves and fix a broken toilet at one point, but I swear I washed my hands before picking up my champagne flute.
~ Tawna Fenske at Don’t Pet Me, I’m Writing

Why I Liked It: Who doesn’t dream of exacting a little revenge against someone from their past?  We’re human, right?

5 Steps for Slaying the Doubt Dragon
Do you deal with bouts of doubt?  I do.  Daily.  Doubt is one of Twelve Troublemakers who plague me as a writer. I’ll explore one a week, beginning with this most persistent of pests.  How do I know when doubt has me in its claws? I see the signs.
~ Keli Gwyn at Keli Gwyn, Author

Why I Liked It: Doubt can be a constant companion to the writer (well, okay, to everyone in every situation, but this is a blog about writing, so…).  This post had fantastic tips for ways to combat doubt.  I can use all the help I can get.

Toy Story 3 Linked To Self-Diagnosis of Disposaphobia
I haven’t believed in living toys since my brother’s plastic dog-shaped toy box tried to attack me when I was three years old.  I swear it really happened, but my parents insisted it was just a dream.  Either way, I didn’t venture into his room alone for several years.  I watched Toy Story 3 on DVD with the kids this weekend, which resurrected this memory and has forced me to wrestle with some confusing emotions.
~ JannaTWrites at JannaTWrite’s Blog

Why I Liked It: I love every one of the Toy Story movies and, even at 40-something, I totally believe that toys come alive.  Any post that references Toy Story gets my like vote.

What inspired you this week?

9 thoughts on ““Fan”tabulous Fridays: 2/11/11

  1. Thanks for the shout-out. I always appreciate people who take the time to help bloggers like me grow their platforms. Make my job WAY easier. Much appreciated :D.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the link to my post, Hilary. Being listed between my awesome critique partner Jody and social networking superstar Kristen Lamp is a rush. Being included in your Fantabulous Friday post is an honor. 🙂

    I’ve seen your name on my blog and looked forward to getting to know you. Now that I’ve found your cyber hang out, I’ve subscribed and am eager to learn more about you and your writing.

    Like

  3. Hi again, Hilary. I’m laughing at myself because I didn’t realize you’d linked to two of my posts until I got the pingback notice on the second. Wow! What can I say? This is a double delight.

    Like

    • You’re welcome! What can I say…your blog posts inspired me twice this week. 🙂

      Thank you for subscribing. I’m learning, as I venture forth on my writing journey, that interaction with fellow writers is an invaluable resource, on so many levels. And connecting with those who’ve traveled further down that path than I is truly inspiring and motivating.

      Like

  4. I’ve checked out some of the other blogs you listed and I have to say that they were impressive! I’m honored that you liked two of my posts enough to include them in the same list – thank you 🙂

    I like your Friday lists because it’s a great way to find blogs that I may not have known about before. I missed it when you skipped last week.

    Like

    • I agree that the other blogs are impressive. I’m learning so much from every blog I read and that, of course, includes yours. I’d intended to post last Friday but ran into technical difficulties. Sometimes, I think the computer has a mind of its own. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.