I Am a Writer. Really.

Through the miracle of Freshly Pressed, I came across this fantastic blog the other day: Kristen Lamb’s Blog.  It is ALL about being a writer and it instantly became my new favorite blog (at least as pertains to craft).

The thing that leapt out at me when I was reading Ms. Lamb’s blog was that, if I am going to be a writer, I need to start saying “I AM A WRITER“.  Not “I am the contracts manager on the airport expansion“.  That pays the bills, but isn’t what I AM.

In essence, by changing my definition of myself, I am hoping to create a self-fulfilling prophecy.  🙂

However, it is not enough to say I am a writer; I have to follow it up with action.  I gotta walk the walk, not just talk the talk.  That means I need to write daily.  I need to blog regularly, not just as inspiration strikes.  At heart, I am a lazy soul but the discovery of Ms. Lamb’s blog was just the kick in the a$$ I needed.

Therefore, I am committing to a weekly post (to start), with the goal of ramping up to three posts per week.  My future blog posts will likely focus on what I am learning about the craft of writing.  I remember things best if I write them down.  For the one or two of you who read this blog, I hope you will join me in my quest for knowledge.

By the way, I’m putting that commitment out there so I can be held accountable, even if only to myself.

Ms. Lamb stresses the importance of networking and developing a platform to market yourself.  To that end, I joined Romance Writers of America.   From their website: “RWA is dedicated to advancing the professional interests of career-focused romance writers through networking and advocacy.  The association represents more than 10,000 members in 145 chapters offering local or special-interest networking and education.”

Courtesy: Photodisc, Inc.

The universe was definitely speaking to me this week.

First, I find a blog that jazzes me up and provides tremendous motivation.  Thank you, Ms. Lamb, you may have changed my life.

Second, I joined RWA, something I’d considered about six years ago, but I wimped out.  I guess I wasn’t ready for a commitment back then.

Third, when I went to the RWA website on Monday and searched for a local chapter, I discovered that there is one that meets in the library RIGHT NEXT DOOR to my condo!!!

If I’d ignored that neon, day-glo sign from the universe, I would have needed to have my head examined.  Seriously.

Fourth, to add to that bit of cosmic dust, there was a meeting scheduled for that very same night.  I’m not stupid.  I don’t ignore the universe.  I went.

And I’m going to join that local chapter and keep attending.

If you’ve read any of the more recent entries in this blog, then you know that I participated in NaNoWriMo.  And you know that, at the end of November, I discovered I had over 50,000 words of romance novel.  I had come up with the bone structure for a book.  The next step will be to flesh it out through character and plot expansion.

I have been procrastinating on doing that.

Not anymore.

To paraphrase Robert Fulgrum, all I really need to know about how to live and what to do and how to be, I learned through reading AND writing it down.

I am a writer.  Really.

2 thoughts on “I Am a Writer. Really.

Comments are closed.